Friday: Free Response

Today, I just want to talk about how much this book means to me. I’ve read Perks once before when I was younger, but I feel like I couldn’t relate to it on such a personal level. Charlie, the main character who writes letters (which is what the book is), struggles with both depression and anxiety. One of my favorite things about this is that he never says it. You just know from what he says and the way he writes and I think that is really important. It is a really important thing for people to look for signs of mental illness rather than for someone to just say it (because that can be extremely hard). I struggle with Charlie, and it feels good to know that there’s someone out there that thinks like me. In a way, Charlie and this book gives me hope. 

Leave a Reply

